Week 44 – New Low

Thanks everyone for your continued support.

It’s been a rough couple of weeks.  There were a few deaths among my social circle in the last week.  My best friend, Christian, lost his father.  My boss lost his brother-in-law.  A colleague at Dominican University College also lost his father.  Apparently that rule of three is not an urban legend, after all.

It is also Remembrance Week, culminating with Remembrance Day ceremonies across Canada.  Remembrance Day is always emotional for me.  As you may have read in previous posts, both my grandfathers served in the Army in World War II.  I was only a few months old when my paternal grandfather, Tom Read, Sr., passed away after a long struggle with cancer so I didn’t get know him but always felt his presence growing up.  I’ve written previously on the influence of my maternal grandfather, Donald MacEachern.  Since he was a carpenter, the Army trained him as an engineer.  In the civilian world, engineers primarily build things.  In the military world, they blow them up.  He was diffusing bombs left on a bridge by retreating Germans, when enemy artillery took a chunk out of his lower leg.  He recovered, returned to Cape Breton to raise a family, build a city, and never spoke of the war again.

While I often think of my grandfather this time of year, in recent years the number of people I think about has grown substantially.  Like many of you, I have friends and family in the Canadian Forces.  Almost all of them have served in Afghanistan. I’ve been lucky that they all came back. Some of their colleagues weren’t as lucky.  I will forever be thankful for their sacrifice.

Now it wasn’t all misery this week.  I hit a new low this week.  Context is everything. When writing about weight loss, hitting a new low is good news.  I clocked in earlier this week at 168 lbs.  I had added a few pounds since reaching my goal, but had shed those and hovered at the 170 mark for the last few weeks.   Don’t worry, I’m not going to rename the blog anytime soon.  According to the BMI scale, I am now no longer “overweight”.  Since there a lot of factors the Body Mass Index does not consider, I’ve always called it an imperfect measure. That said, it is one indicator among many that I’m still going in the right direction.

Speaking of indicators, I’m going to do something really fun tonight before my 5k clinic.  I’m returning the Running Wear brand clothes I bought back in March when I started running. The Running Room’s brand of gear comes with a one year warranty that includes being too big as an allowed reason for a return.  Smart business move as it makes for a great safe investment.  Knowing I could return it in a few months after I shrank out of them was a deciding factor in buying the store’s brand.

Remember, I was still well over 200 lbs when I took up running in March.  I wasn’t yet in the mood to buy anything but the bear necessities.  I needed running gear, though.  When I started, I had one pair of track pants that were XL in waist, but also in length.  A nylon pullover from a mutual fund company had already become overly baggy.  I needed some gear to get started.  Now it’s time to return it.

Just in time to get winter gear!  Before you ask, no, it’s not a coincidence of timing. I actually waited this long so the store would be fully stocked with winter gear.

Another milestone.

Allons-y!

Leave a Reply

