Week 39 – the end of the road….well, not really

This week’s weigh-in:  170 lbs 

Weight loss to date:  66 lbs

To goal: 0 lbs

Just wanted to do a quick post to let you in on the news:  I’ve reached my goal weight.

I have so many people to thank.  I’ll talk about them in my next post.

It’s Wednesday, which means Running Room practice run night.  When it’s a sitting day in the Senate, I use the locker room at our gym to change and leave my stuff.  When I came back to throw my suit on, I couldn’t help but hop on the scale.  I wasn’t expecting much.  I didn’t shed any weight over the weekend and it was also the evening, meaning there was food in my belly from the day’s meals that had yet to be fully digested.  I even had a couple of pre-run hors d’oerves at a retirement reception for now former Senator Bill Rompkey.  I was looking more to assess the mid-week damage I had done.

The results floored me.  I slid the scale to 175, which proved to be too much.  I nudged the slider pound by pound until it was balanced.

170.

I read it.

I wept.

Thank God there was no one in the locker room.  They would have seen a grown man cry.   I couldn’t help it.  A sudden flood of emotion came over me. I just kept thinking of everything that’s happened over this entire journey, the highs and the lows.  In this case, the weight lows outnumbered the highs and the emotional highs outnumbered the lows.

#Winning. Tiger Blood. Adonis DNA. Oh wait, Charlie Sheen references are so last April.  Leave it me to beat a dead horse.

Unlike a certain former US President (btw, miss him yet?), I’m not running up the “Mission Accomplished” banner just yet.  Yes, major combat operations have ended, but there is still an insurgency to be suppressed and a society to be rebuilt.  I have a post-war plan.

The road had ended. Not with some glorious final destination, but with an intersection.  Like the hills I ran in Ben Eoin, I get to the top the hill to find … another hill.  I’ll keep blogging about the road I chose.

But first, permit me a victory lap.

Those pants from the size 52 suit again.

Allons-y!

2 responses

  1. wow 🙂 congratulations!

    1. Thanks. It’s been a pretty big journey for me. Lord of the Rings epic big. Hope you enjoy the blog.

Leave a Reply

