Week One

January 13, 2011

Initial weigh-in: 236 lbs.

Starting today, you’e going to see a new series of numbers in my status updates. Unlike last year’s page count for my PhD dissertation, this series will hopefully be on the decline.

It’s my weight.

I decided the challenge this winter to fill the gap of completing my doctorate is going to be get into shape. Unlike last time I went on a weight loss jag in ’04 to fight off sleep apnea, I’m using a trainer and a nutrition plan to structure my workout.   I figure posting my results may add some accountability for me. Don’t worry, I’ll spare you the shirtless “before” picture, but I hope to post one hell of an “after” photo around July.

BTW, today I weighed in at 234lbs.  The ideal weight for someone my height is 170lbs.

2 responses

  1. […] niche markets. Novels are broadcast. Blogs are narrowcast. For those who have been with me since the beginning, you’ve seen this blog evolve from my rumination on my weight loss journey to a broader focus […]

  2. […] it to the gym for 7 means waking up at 5:30. Yes, that’s 5:30 in the morning. Remember, when I started this journey a year and a half ago, I was getting up that early, sometimes earlier. That was in January when it was pitch black and […]

Leave a Reply

