Week 9 – A Plateau Broken and a Milestone Reached

March 10, 2011

This week’s weigh-in: 216 lbs.  

Weight lost to date: 20 lbs.  

To Goal: 44 lbs. 

Thank you once again for the kind words of support.  I really needed it since the last entry.

So no entry last week.  The weight loss plateaued and I was pretty exhausted.  The personal training sessions meant 5 am wake ups last week, so I was pretty beat by the time I’d get home and didn’t have much energy to get my writer on.  I’m not used to farmer’s hours.

Last week was pretty frustrating.  My weight plateaued.  Try as I might, I couldn’t drop a damn pound.  There are going to be weeks like this, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to enjoy them.   The good news, of course, is the weight didn’t go up.  It was cold comfort, though.

Thankfully, the plateau didn’t last long.  I dropped a pound on Monday’s weigh-in and was down another two yesterday.  In two months, I’m now just a little under a third of the way to my goal.

So what broke the plateau? Who knows? Pretty sure the plateau was muscle gain outpacing fat loss.  I was following the meal plan religiously and doing my usual cardio/swimming routine.  I doubled up on the cardio in the first half of this week because my swimming pool was undergoing maintenance while they switched from chlorine to salt water.

Glad that moment has passed and I hope to not have many more.

In other news, getting the next batch of suits ready to bring to Moore’s to get taken in.  I’m in a pretty awkward place where my existing wardrobe, even my shirts, are now too big, but it’s way too early in this process to even consider buying anything new.  In the interim, tailoring will have to be my stop gap.  Everything is so big on me now, I look like a clown.  A well dressed clown, but a clown nonetheless.

A nice problem to have.

Allons-y!

Leave a Reply

