Week 7 – On Temptation

February 25, 2011

Today’s  Weigh-in: 219 lbs.  

Weight loss to date: 17 lbs  

To Goal: 49 lbs

I want to begin by thanking everyone for the great support.  Another great week of the weight going in the right direction.  Less than 50 to go!

Knowing everyone is rooting for me helps me do things I wouldn’t normally want to do, like wake up at 5:30 am to attend my personal training sessions.  As I’ve mentioned before, with the increased exercise activity I’m going to bed quite a bit earlier than I used to.  I am certainly not the night owl I used to be.  That stated, I’m not a morning person by any stretch of the imagination. Still the same grumpy cuss until I get my morning coffee.  Once the caffeine gets to the bloodstream, I’m a slightly less grumpy cuss.

The number one question I keep getting is if I’m tempted to cheat.  The answer is, “Holy shit, yes!!” This might seem like hyperbole, but I think I know what it’s like to be an alcoholic at a bar.  I’m constantly surrounded by temptation.  There are whole aisles of the grocery store I don’t go down anymore.  Most visits, I don’t actually go down an aisle.  Veggies, meat dairy on all the peripherary.  The design of some aisles are down right insidious.  Ever notice the zero calorie soda water is in the midway through the aisle with pop (soda for my American friends) on one side and the potato chips on the other?

I commit a few misdemeanours now and then.  Small popcorn at the movies.  Breadcrumbs on the chicken breasts.  The meal plan tells me what to eat, but not how to cook it.  Thankfully, I’m inventive enough a cook I can satisfy most cravings without actually cheating.

When I reach the limits of my creativity, all I have left is pure will power. When I go out on weekends, I’ve figured out how to satisfy the meal plan requirements off the typical pub menu.  I tell the kitchen to hold the bun on the hamburger and get a salad or veggies instead of fries.  Thankfully, I’m usually with supportive friends to make sure I stay on the path.

Next week I’m starting a new phase.  I’m going to see my trainer three times a week instead of two. Hopefully this time next week I’ll have broken through another barrier – the 20 lbs lost mark.

Allons-y!

Leave a Reply

