Week 22 – Goal post moved back, but feeling okay

June 11, 2011

This week’s weigh-in: 193 lbs

Weight loss to date:  43 lbs

To goal:  23 lbs

Thanks for all the great comments from last week’s post and apologies for the delay in this week’s post.  Work was a little hectic with the Conservative Convention in town.

As you can see from the weigh-in, I ended the week two pounds heavier than last week. Aside from a few snacks at the Throne Speech reception, my nutrition was good and I exercised everyday so I’m chalking it to increased muscle mass.

A month or two ago, a gain week would have been a major letdown.  Now, I just see it as the goal posts of this journey being moved back a week or two.  I’m going to get there, it’s just going to take a little longer.  I think this how David Jensen must have felt when he would get the script for the latest episode of the Fugitive and find out he wasn’t going to find the one-armed man this episode.

The reason I can see the forest for the trees now is that I’m so close to the finish line it doesn’t seem like as a big a setback  as it would earlier in this journey.  Some of my new clothes are smaller than stuff I wore in high school.  How can I complain?

The other reason is you.  Knowing I have so many friends rooting for me keeps me in perspective. When I’m tempted by junk, I just think of you and have the courage to pass.

As I mentioned at the outset, this weekend was the Conservative Party’s Policy Convention.  I’m sure all my friends in politics, regardless of party, can agree the best thing, after the free booze in hospitality suites, is getting to reconnect with your friends from across the country.  In my case, my New Brunswick friends have come to me instead of me going to them.  Many haven’t seen me in months, some in years.  All have been shocked to see my new level of fitness.  The shock on everyone’s face is pretty motivating.

Looking forward to the week ahead.

Allons-y!

Leave a Reply

