Week 15 – Taking stock

April 22, 2011

This week’s weigh-in: 203 lbs

Weight Loss to date: 33 lbs

To Goal: 33 lbs

Thank you for your support, questions, coments, etc.  We’ve passed another big milestone, the halfway point.  Would have liked to have passed it a couple of weeks ago, but as I’ve mentioned in previous posts my own failings delayed this moment.  I don’t want to dwell on the negative, so let’s take stock of the victories to date:

The “infomercial picture”. Me in a pair of pants from a size 52 suit I bought in October last year.

Pretty much everything I own is too big.  For someone who prided himself on not looking like a fat slob despite the fact, let’s face it, he was a fat slob, this is a problem.  Using suspenders instead of a belt has gone from useful extension of life for my pants to making me look like a clown.  With a belt, though, I can’t stand up without having to pull up my pants.  I don’t event have to undo my pants to take them off anymore.  Just undo the belt and let gravity take care of the rest.

I’ve been doing some shopping to buy mostly office casual clothes since that what’s I’m wearing the most of right now.  I don’t want to spend too much because anything I buy now will probably not last me more than a season.  I just want to get through to fall before I do a wholesale wardrobe replacement.  Since my suits from Beyond the Rack haven’t arrived yet, I picked up a couple of slim fitting suits from Zara and some Docker’s from Moore’s.

The Dockers are size 36.

I’m going to repeat that:  The Dockers are size 36.

I think the last time I fit into a size 36 pant was high school.

The Zara suits are a size 46, but they’re a Euro slim style and based on EU sizes.  My North American suit size, as of my last measurement a couple of weeks ago,  is a 44.  I was at my peak at size 52 when I splurged on some suits in October, but down to 50 when I bought a couple of three pieces in December.  That’s down three sizes and I have a little over 30 lbs to go.

I bought a watch in November and had to have another link taken out of the band this weekend.  It was flopping around my wrist when I run.  The jingle jangle of the titanium band is rather annoying when your running a couple of km. Who would have thought that I would shed fat from my wrists? Not me.

Dress shirts aren’t much better, but I can’t be bothered to replace them yet.  Not wearing them enough to bother.  As I lose some of the older ones to wear and tear, I’ll just replace them with smaller ones.  I did buy a couple of “modern/slim fit” shirts late last year and even they are roomy, but at least they don’t look as bad as the traditional fit.

The dress shirts are actually an item that I thought would be relatively safe from this.  As my weight has gone up and down over the years, my neck size has remained a constant 17.5.  I’m also rather barrel-chested, a trait from my mother’s side of the family, I believe.  That my shirts are now too big has challenged another assumption about what I could achieve on this journey.  I’m starting to toss those notions in the trashcan in which they belong.

Now that I’ve passed the halfway point on my journey, I think I may look back on the first half and think it was the easy part.  Looking forward to getting below 200 lbs for the first time in years.

Allons-y!

Leave a Reply

