Week 10 – Dear God, mind if I call this a twofer?

March 18, 2011

This week’s weigh-in:  213 lbs

Weight loss to date: 23 lbs

Left to goal:  43 lbs

Another great week.  I wouldn’t be at this stage without your support.

Don’t worry.  I won’t start quoting Bette Midler lyrics.

As the title suggests, it’s Lent for us Catholics.  For those non- or lapsed-Catholics amongst my friends, I’m not going to going to turn this into a length exposition on dogmatic theology.  If you’re curious on that front, there’s always the usual keepers of all human knowledge:  Google and Wikipedia.

The main feature of Lent you non-believers are probably aware of is the sacrifice for 40 days and 40 nights.  It begins with a binge we colloquially call Fat Tuesday or, en francais, Mardi Gras.  What follows is a commitment to not indulge in whatever you gave up for the next six weeks until Easter.

On top of this, you abstain from meat on Fridays. Last year, I gave up deep fried foods.  Not a problem most days except Fridays.  On Fridays, I found out how unimaginative the menus were at Ottawa-area pubs.  No fried food + no meat = real few options to compliment happy hour pints.

This year, I have a dilemma.  Since I started this meal plan back in January, I’ve already sacrificed a lot.  The meal plan eliminated pretty much all my food vices.

Fish and chips?

Gone.

Fried chicken?

Gone.

Popcorn?

Gone.

Pizza?

Gone.

Pasta?

Gone

This is not say the meal plan is restrictive.  I’m inventive enough that the cravings are minimal, mostly on my walk home from work along Rideau St. where I pass a number of pubs, pizza shops, and movie theatres that serve pretty much all of the above.  Almost anything else I can work into the meal plan.

There simply aren’t a lot of vices left.  Sure, I could give up calling Liberals bad names, but if an election happens, we all know that isn’t happening.  Cigars? With winter just leaving us, that hobby hasn’t reappeared with any regularity to call giving it up a sacrifice.  Scotch? How about I just give up hemoglobin.

To make a long story short, since I’m already on a pretty big sacrifice that makes 40 days and 40 nights seem like a cakewalk, think the Big Guy is going to mind if I emulate Liberal criminal justice policy and take two for one credit on this?

Allons-y!

One response

  1. […] it’s Lent again. This year’s dilemma for a Lenten fast is pretty much the same as last year’s. Most of the junk food that I gave up when I began my weight loss journey last year has not been […]

Leave a Reply

