Week 14 – I’m a bad boy

April 15, 2011

This week’s weigh-in: 205 lbs

Weight loss to date:  31 lbs

To goal:  34 lbs

Thanks for your continued support.  Down another pound this week, but only a pound.

As usual, my own damn fault.

Decided to take my trainer’s advice and give up alcohol until I get below 200 lbs.  That lasted three days.  On the fourth day, yesterday, I sinned.  Big time.  Maybe it wouldn’t have been so bad if I stuck with gin and soda, but I just had to have a scotch … or two … or three.  I’d like to blame the bartender for using too much water, but I’m still the idiot that ordered every drink.

As usual, time dust myself off and try again.   Take 2.

To quote Chumbawumba, I get knocked down, but I get up again.  You’re never going to keep me down.

I just quoted Chumbawumba.  Ugh.  I suppose better that than Lady Gaga.

Now on to the positive news.  The training for the 5 K is going well.  I’ve been using the Nike+ system with my iPod to track my runs, distance, pace, etc.  Had a great run with my personal trainer and a group he organized on Saturday and then the Running Room’s run club on Sunday.  Ran by myself on Tuesday morning along Strathchona Park.

For those unfamiliar, Strathcona Park runs along the Sandy Hill side of the Rideau River.  Tuesday morning was glorious.  Sunny but cool.  The sun was rising above the river, which itself was running quite high with the previous day’s rain and melting snow.  Managed to get a little under 4 K in from when when I left my building until I returned.  Haven’t figured out how to set up the iPod to do the run-walk intervals, so I was just guessing when two minutes were up when I checked.  Most times I ran a little longer.  It was good practice for Wednesday when we began 3 minute run, 1 minute walk intervals.

The Wednesday routine of beginning with my personal training session and ending with the running clinic is still making for one long ass day.  It’s showing the importance of planning out my meals.  When I get home, I pretty much have enough energy left to get my meals ready and then its off to bed.  Usually, I’ll have shrimp for lunch on Thursday because the preparation is as simple as placing the frozen shrimp in a container and let them thaw in the fridge overnight.  Normally, I cook two portions of whatever I’m going to have for dinner and save one for lunch to go with my salad.  Haven’t been so great at that this week.  Seems like I’ve been playing catch-up the second half of the week.

Decided to go and buy some new clothes this weekend.  Even my casual clothes are big to the point of discomfort.  Going to go easy and just get a few items and not going to pay full price for anything.  I figure that since I still have over 30 lbs to shed before I reach my goal, I may only get a single season out of anything I buy.  There’s no point doing too much, but I need a few things to feel comfortable in.  The funny thing about losing weight is that anything you gain in the looks department is offset by the slobbishness of wearing clothes that don’t fit right or at all.  I’ll probably be able to fund a trip around the world with all the airmiles I’m collecting replacing stuff.

Allons-y!

Leave a Reply

